Connections 08/2014

Aug 2014 Connections. In his book, American Nations: A History of the Eleven Rival Regional Cultures of North America (Penguin, 2011), historian and journalist Colin Woodard explains that our continent was originally colonized by 11 different “nations” — cultural groups whose influence is still apparent today. As shown on the map here and described in last month’s Connections, they are Yankeedom (New England and west through Minnesota), New Netherland (greater New York City), the Midland, Tidewater (mid-Atlantic coast), greater Appalachia (coal country and south to Tennessee, west to north-central Texas), the Deep South (Carolinas through east Texas), ElNorte (both sides of the Mexico border), the Left Coast, the Far West, the First Nation (Alaska and Canada), and New France (Canada and Cajun Louisiana). read/download 8/2014 Connections